Explains what the feature is or what its benefits are to the user or customer.
When restoring to a running cluster that has not been updated, you'll usually use a snapshot. But in the case where you've updated the cluster to a new release, the configuration has been changed significantly, or you're restoring to a different cluster, you'll need to restore from a backup.
Snapshots are restored onto a running cluster, while backups require deleting the existing cluster first.
Snapshot restore is not supported for cross versions. As such, if you’re running version 3.4, you can only restore to a snapshot taken in 3.4.
- Removal of a node.
- Restoring to a different cluster from the one where the snapshot/backup was taken.
- Restoring to a cluster running a different release from the one where the snapshot/backup was taken.