Skip to main content

 

ThoughtSpot

About restore operations

Overview

Explains what the feature is or what its benefits are to the user or customer.

Feature

When restoring to a running cluster that has not been updated, you'll usually use a snapshot. But in the case where you've updated the cluster to a new release, the configuration has been changed significantly, or you're restoring to a different cluster, you'll need to restore from a backup.

Snapshots are restored onto a running cluster, while backups require deleting the existing cluster first.

Snapshot restore is not supported for cross versions. As such, if you’re running version 3.2, you can only restore to a snapshot taken in 3.2.

Changes to a cluster that require restoring from a backup instead of a snapshot include:
  • Removal of a node.
  • Restoring to a different cluster from the one where the snapshot/backup was taken.
  • Restoring to a cluster running a different release from the one where the snapshot/backup was taken.
  • Was this article helpful?