Explains what the feature is or what its benefits are to the user or customer.
When restoring to a running cluster that has not been updated, you'll usually use a snapshot. But in the case where you've updated the cluster to a new release, the configuration has been changed significantly, or you're restoring to a different cluster, you'll need to restore from a backup.
Snapshots are restored onto a running cluster, while backups require deleting the existing cluster first.
Snapshot restore is not backward compatible. As such, if you’re running version 3.0 you can restore from a version 2.5 snapshot, but not the other way around. If you need to restore a 3.0 snapshot to a cluster running an older version, you must first do a cluster update to version 3.0 and then restore the 3.0 snapshot on that cluster.
- Addition or removal of a node.
- Hardware upgrade.
- Restoring to a different cluster from the one where the snapshot/backup was taken.
- Restoring to a cluster running a different release from the one where the snapshot/backup was taken.